Blame It All On My Roots

Racing has been a family affair for Donny Schatz from the time he climbed into a sprint car for the first time at the age of 15 at the Grand Forks Speedway which Danny got lined up for him.  It is no secret that  Donny’s passion for racing stems from his father, Danny, who raced regionally around North Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin and Thunder Bay, Ontario in the 1970s. 

The most unique part of Danny’s career in racing didn’t come from something he did behind the wheel. Through a connection in racing, Danny found an opportunity in the truck stop business. 

“He was working on the railroad and then as an ironworker and eventually figured out that if you’re going to get anywhere, you need to be involved in a business. Through a friend and sponsor, it led him to get into the truck stop business. That’s how Schatz Crossroads was founded,” explained Donny. “It was more the racing side of things bringing him into the business world than the business world bringing him into racing.”  Read more

Schatz Races to 9th Win at Dodge City, Hard Charger at Jacksonville

Photo Credit: DB3 Inc. 

FARGO, N.D. (September 26, 2019) – Donny Schatz raced to his ninth victory of the season last Friday night, September 20th at Dodge City (KS) Raceway Park to kick off the two-night Outlaw Boot Hill Showdown. 

The win was Schatz’s fifth at the three-eighths mile oval, which broke a tie with Daryn Pittman for the most World of Outlaws wins at the speedway.  Read more

Donny Schatz, World of Outlaws, Sprint Cars

Schatz looks to cap off California swing on high note this weekend

Photo Credit: DB3 Inc.

FARGO, N.D. (September 13, 2019) – The World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series heads to two fast California speedways this weekend to wrap up the final West Coast swing of the 2019 season. 

First up is the Stockton Dirt Track tonight, Friday, Sept. 13th. In eight starts at the three-eighths mile oval, Schatz has an average finish of 4.1 backed by three wins, six top-fives and only one finish outside of the top 10. Read more

Donny Schatz, World of Outlaws, Sprint Cars, Skagit Speedway

Schatz races to a pair of runner-up finishes at Skagit and Grays Harbor

Photo Credit: DB3 Imaging

FARGO, N.D. (September 4, 2019) – It was a busy three-race weekend in the Pacific Northwest for the Tony Stewart/Curb-Agajanian No. 15 team over the Labor Day weekend. Ten-time and defending World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series champion, Donny Schatz, scored three top-ten finishes, including two second-place efforts. 

Following an eighth-place run on Friday, August 30th at Skagit Speedway in Burlington, Wash. Schatz backed that up with his first of two runner-up finishes of the weekend at Skagit on Saturday.  Read more

Donny Schatz, Big Sky Speedway, World of Outlaws, Speedway Shots

Schatz Gears Up For Tripleheader Weekend in Washington

Photo Credit: Speedway Shots

FARGO, N.D. (August 28, 2019) – The World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series schedule intensifies a bit with six events scheduled over a nine day period. The action begins this weekend with back-to-back shows at Skagit Speedway in Burlington, Washington on Friday, August 30th and Saturday, August 31st, followed by a Monday Labor Day special at Grays Harbor Raceway in Elma, Washington. 

On Wednesday, September 4th, the World of Outlaws head to Willamette Speedway in Lebanon, Oregon before heading to Chico, California for the Gold Cup at Silver Dollar Speedway on Sept. 6th and 7th.  Read more

Donny Schatz, World of Outlaws, River Cities Speedway

Schatz Storms to 12th Career Outlaws Win at River Cities Speedway

Photo Credit: Speedway Shots

FARGO, N.D. – Donny Schatz and the Tony Stewart Racing team have been known for finishing the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series seasons strong over the last several years after the Knoxville Nationals. If Friday night at River Cities Speedway was any indication, the Toco Warranty / Ford Performance team will continue that trend to complete 2019. Read more